Model release

GPT Transcribe Release: Features and Evaluation

OpenAI released GPT Transcribe on July 28, 2026. This article outlines the documented features, API endpoints, and a practical procedure for engineers to test…

Released Published 3 min readModel evidence ↗
GPT Transcribe release illustration — OpenAI

Release Announcement and Scope

OpenAI announced the release of GPT Transcribe and GPT Live Transcribe on July 28, 2026. The official changelog identifies two distinct models within this release: gpt-transcribe and gpt-live-transcribe. The source describes GPT Transcribe as intended for accurate file transcription and final transcripts of committed Realtime turns. It describes GPT Live Transcribe as intended for low-latency streaming transcription. The announcement lists v1/audio/transcriptions and v1/realtime as the associated API endpoints.

  • GPT Transcribe is documented for file transcription and final transcripts of committed Realtime turns.
  • GPT Live Transcribe is documented for low-latency streaming transcription.
  • The release was announced on July 28, 2026.

Documented Capabilities and Unknowns

The source states that both models support free-form transcription context, keyword hints, and multiple expected input languages. The model family is identified as GPT, with audio as the input modality and text as the output modality. The record indicates that open weights are not confirmed for this release. The source does not provide pricing information, context window size, or maximum output token limits. It does not specify deployment architecture, local installation requirements, or integration behavior beyond the listed API endpoints. The absence of open-weight confirmation does not establish that local installation is impossible or that API access is mandatory.

  • Both models support free-form transcription context.
  • Both models accept keyword hints.
  • Both models support multiple expected input languages.
  • Open weights status is recorded as not confirmed.
  • Pricing and context window details are not specified in the source.

Practical Evaluation Procedure

Engineers should evaluate these models by designing controlled tests to measure accuracy and latency. To validate the free-form context feature, provide a sample audio file with a specific contextual prompt and compare the resulting transcript to a ground truth dataset. For GPT Live Transcribe, measure the time delay between audio input and text output to assess the stated low-latency capability. Compare the outputs of both models when processing the same multilingual audio segment to determine which workflow suits specific language requirements. Do not assume performance improvements over previous iterations without direct comparative testing. These steps propose validation methods; they do not confirm guaranteed operational benefits or comparative improvements.

  • Test file transcription accuracy using a standardized audio corpus.
  • Measure streaming latency for GPT Live Transcribe in real-time scenarios.
  • Validate keyword hint effectiveness by comparing transcripts with and without hints.
  • Compare multilingual support across different expected input languages.

Primary sources

QUICK ANSWERS

Frequently asked questions

What are the specific API endpoints for GPT Transcribe?

The source lists v1/audio/transcriptions and v1/realtime as the relevant API endpoints. GPT Transcribe is associated with file transcription and final transcripts of committed Realtime turns, while GPT Live Transcribe is associated with low-latency streaming transcription.

Does the release confirm open-weight availability?

No. The source explicitly records that open weights are not confirmed. It does not state whether local installation is possible or impossible, nor does it mandate API-only access. The absence of confirmation means the weight availability remains unverified in this specific release note.